Word of the Month: Repetition

Repetition: the action of repeating something that has already been said or written.

When looking up the definition of this word, the Oxford definition really stood out to me. The action of repeating something that has already been said or written. When I set my mind to repeat something, I need to write it down or declare it.
EX: I'm going to repeat graphic designing every week so I can get better and better.

The inspiration for choosing this word was from reading the book The Talent Code by Daniel Coyle. The theme of the first couple of chapters was how the production of myelin is boosted when you constantly repeat something.

Myelin is a sheath made out of proteins that wrap around a nerve. The book explains how elites in music, athletics, chess, etc. have an immense amount of myelin produced from repeating a specific thing and learning every bit of it. The author would go out into places called 'hotbeds' (a place where talent is constantly pumped out) and see how the prodigies would start their journey by constantly repeating a skill until mastery. Usually, they would start off terrible, but because of their intense focus on a particular skill, they become great.

This showed me the importance of repetition. I'll mostly use this when sprinting. To become better, I have to master certain skills such as form during max speed and the acceleration phase. I can also use this when graphic designing or writing. When I constantly do something, pick out the mistakes, correct them, and repeat the cycle until mastery, only greater things will happen.

Repetition will also be used with habits. For example, I need to build the habit of spending time with God first thing in the morning. I need to continue to treat this habit until it's automatic and natural like brushing my teeth.

Reply

or to participate.