Skin Care Ins & Outs

⋆。˚🧖🏾‍♀️🫧🧴💕˚☽˚。⋆

This year I want to take care of my skin better. Achieving clear, glass skin will be a learning journey and will take lots of discipline to maintain. Here’s a list of Ins and Outs that I’ll be doing to maintain healthy skin.

Ins

Skin Care Routine- I need to set up a skin care routine suitable to my needs. One that’ll not only help me achieve glass skin, but one that’s maintainable and simple to follow everyday.

Face Icing- When I used to ice my face, I found that my skin had a plump look, glowed, and would also wake me up. If you wake up with puffiness or swollen eyes, icing your face is the way to go. Icing reduces swelling, shrinks your pores, eases acne, and brightens your skin. You don’t have to use water either, green tea and aloe vera contain antioxidants that provide additional advantages. To reap the maximum benefits, I’ll attempt icing my face daily.

Clay masks- Clay masks are perfect if you have oily and acne-prone skin. They draw out excess oil and debris while also exfoliating your skin. After washing the mask off, brighter and plumper skin is revealed. Depending on the state of your skin, using clay masks 1-3x a week is recommended.

Gua Shua and Massaging- Seeing the before and after’s of self-facial massages or using a Gua shua inspires me to implement them into my daily skincare routine. The massages are relaxing and help shape your face and reduce facial puffiness by draining the fluid buildup in your face.

Washing Face Daily- How many times you wash your face a day and what type of facial cleanser you use all depends on your skin. For example, if you wear makeup or sunscreen, you should probably wash your face around twice a day, to remove build-up and clear clogged pores. Remember to avoid over-washing your face as well. Decreasing your facial washes to once a day is recommended during the dry, winter seasons. I’ll be washing my face in the mornings and before bed for 60 seconds each. I’ll lessen the time or change my face wash if I feel like my skin is being stripped or being negatively affected.

SPF- Since I live in a very sunny state and spend lots of time outside, I’ll need to add SPF into my skincare routine. I can do this by finding a moisturizer containing SPF or a face sunscreen. Using SPF will protect the skin from sun damage, hyper pigmentation, and early aging, and reduce the risk of skin cancer.

 Outs

Skipping washing face- Not washing your face can lead to blemishes, oily skin, dry skin, and dirt build-up. If you feel like your skin is better when you don’t wash your face with face wash, either change your face wash, wash your face less, or change the way you wash your face. Continue to wash your face daily with water at least.

Skipping Moisturizing- If you don’t want your skin to look nice and soft, then stop moisturizing. Skipping moisturizing, especially after washing, leaves your skin fully unprotected which causes dry, dull, itchy inflamed skin.

Not being Intentional with Skin Care- If I just lazily wash my face, slap moisturizer on and call it a day, then there was no point in making a skin care routine and hoping for the best. Each day I must intentionally go through with my routine to maintain healthy skin. Always remember this: what you put in is what you get out. Effort = results.

Reply

or to participate.