How I'm starting off the New Year

And tips for how you can too!

Feel like you wasted lots of time last year? Me too.

I didn’t have a set plan or direction of what I wanted to do or become. Having no vision for the new year caused me to waste most of my time scrolling on TikTok or watching YouTube videos. Recently I decided to get up and work to achieve my goals and dreams. The first thing I did was
DREAM/IMAGINE Ephesians 3:20

No, I didn’t automatically get up and decided to start working. I first imagined. I imagined what I would enjoy doing in life and being the person God has called me to be. A few questions I asked myself were:

  • How would I like to see myself?

  • What distractions are getting in the way of me walking with purpose?

  • What habits can I implement in 2024?

  • If I could do absolutely anything in life, what would they be?

  • What is God leading me to do?

These questions took a bit of time for me to answer. I had to sit in silence and genuinely think and dream. The next step I did was

PLAN

Think to yourself, "How will I achieve these dreams?” When planning, make sure you are being realistic. Use S.M.A.R.T. goals as a guide to help you goal plan effectively.

Specific
Measurable
Achievable
Relevant
Timed
I’m currently reading a book called, Sometimes You Win- Sometimes You Learn by Jim Rohn. The book states:

“If you want to climb the highest mountain, you can't expect to do it overnight unless you've been trained in how to climb and gotten into physical condition. And if you try to deny reality and make the climb anyway, you're going to end up in trouble.”

John Maxwell

This brings me to, what I think is the final, most important, and hardest step.

TAKE ACTION

I think that this is one of the most challenging steps to do because of procrastination, fear, having no motivation, and much more. Make sure to not spend all your time planning instead of actually doing. Over-planning can be a form of procrastination. Don’t allow fear to stop you from achieving your dreams and goals. Remember the person you want to become. Discipline is the road between you and that person. Don’t stop working until you’ve reached your fullest potential. Don’t allow yourself to look back at yourself with regret, wishing that you would’ve just started instead of stalling.

Don’t forget to Pray. Ask God to help you get over your fears and anxieties. Talk to God about your dreams and goals and watch Him move in your life. He cares for you.

Take some time out of your week to reflect on these things.

Reply

or to participate.