Getting Out Of A Spiritual Slump

Recently, I noticed that my spiritual life has been declining. A big reason for this is distraction. Because I have been putting God aside and spending less time in His word, it’s affected my personal life. Things I’ve been doing/experiencing are:

  • Procrastinating spending time with God

  • Not praying often

  • Not prioritizing God

  • Anxious thoughts

  • Not reading the Bible often

  • Not being at peace

I thank God that He has pointed out the areas I need to fix to become closer to Him. Here’s what I’ll be doing to stop myself from sinking further.

Prioritize God

A good way I can do this is by praying in the mornings and before bed, along with reading the Word of God. Whenever I’m in His presence, I feel refreshed and new. If I’m away from his presence for a long time, I’ll start to allow the world and its nature to enter my heart and affect me. That is why meditating daily on the word is important.

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers. The wicked are not so, but are like chaff that the wind drives away.

Psalm 1:1-4

I aspire to be like this verse. All he’s doing is choosing to grow in the word of God and delighting in it. And look at the blessings and benefits he reaps!

As I spend quality time with God, even if it’s just 10 minutes, it’ll become easier to choose Him over the things of this world.

Application

But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.

James 1:22-25

Actually applying scripture to your life is a MUST. I can read the Bible all I want, but without taking the time to think about what I read and see where I can apply it in my life, it was all for nothing.

I Bible study method that I absolutely love to use is this:

What does this teach me about God?

What does this teach about man?

Is there a sin to avoid?

Is there a promise of God to remember?

Is there an example to be followed here?

Is there a commandment to obey?

Memorizing scripture

Each month I’ll choose a certain scripture to meditate on daily. One that reminds me to keep it simple is Romans 12:1, MSG version.

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

Romans 12:1

Some days I won’t feel like praying or reading my Bible, but I’ll need to put my feelings aside and do it anyways for the glory of God.

Reply

or to participate.