Finding Peace in the Storm

Last week has been pretty stressful for me. As school started back up, I was instantly hit with an avalanche of assignments, a jam-packed schedule, and thoughts of an unknown future. The mounting stress gradually intensified with each passing day. My thoughts consisted of:

  • How will I accomplish my weekly goals with my schedule?

  • How will I make time for the things I want to do?

  • What will I do in the future?

I longed for a sense of peace.
Throughout the midst of my stress, I decided to sit down and open up the Word. I read Romans 5, TPT translation. There was a certain passage that jumped out at me. It said:

But that’s not all! Even in times of trouble we have a joyful confidence, knowing that our pressures will develop in us patient endurance. And patient endurance will refine our character, and proven character leads us back to hope. And this hope is not a disappointing fantasy, because we can now experience the endless love of God cascading into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who lives in us!

Romans 5:3-5 TPT

It instantly filled me with a sense of peace, hope, and joy! Instead of looking at my problems with fear, I can look at them with strong confidence because I know I am growing and that God is with me. I get to look at Him and rely on his strength instead of fighting to finish the week all on my own. Instead of dwelling on my problems, I get to look up to Christ who has already defeated this world. Sitting down allowed me to see that I am being strengthened. This stress is only temporary and I have my Father in heaven helping me get through my week.

Whenever you’re going through a stressful situation remember these things:

God’s love for you

God loves you so much and wants to be involved in every part of your life. God doesn’t want you to be overwhelmed. He wants to provide you peace and strength as you talk to him and surrender your stress and anxieties. (1 Peter 5:7, Matthew 11:28-30).

You’re being strengthened

God isn’t allowing this pain to happen for no reason. He knows that it will build up your faith and hope. Think about what your situation could be teaching you/how it is growing you(Job 36:15).

This shall pass

Your situation is temporary and will not last forever. God promises to deliver you from your troubles(Psalm 34:19). Do not lose hope in knowing that God has a good future made for you(Jeremiah 29:11). Christ will give you the strength to push through and come out with a powerful testimony of how you were able to persevere and maintain peace in your storm.

Never forget to take a moment to breathe, read God’s word, and allow Him to fill you with His everlasting peace.

Reply

or to participate.