Problems I deal with as a Christian Track Athlete

Dealing with comparison, idolatry, identity, etc.

Being a track athlete is lots of fun, but it requires much work and dedication, especially since I plan to pursue higher levels of the sport. Some of the things I personally struggle with that hinder my walk with God are idolatry, misplacement in identity, and comparison.

Idolatry

Idolizing a sport is a major problem with Christian athletes. We tend to think that God won’t grant our wishes and dreams and will try to open ourselves up to do everything we can to achieve them. We have high goals that’ll require lots of time from our day. When pursuing these dreams of higher levels, I began to think that I didn’t have any time to nurture my relationship with God. I had track practice, school, homework, and more! I truly thought that there was nothing I could do, that God had to come to me to grow and deepen our relationship. I started to worship track instead of worshipping the true God. I replaced God’s word with social media and prayer with pushups. I struggled to give God my dreams in fear that He would take them away. That His will was much less exciting and fulfilling than mine.
These were lies.
God’s plan for me has been made for me to prosper and be filled with hope(Proverbs 19:21, Jeremiah 29:11). He has placed these desires in my heart to fulfill His glory. I perverted the desire to fulfill my own plan and glory. But now knowing that these desires were granted to give the glory to God, my eyes are focused on Him rather than track. It’s just a tool I can use to give Him worship and glory. I’m to worship the creator and not the creation. To combat idolatry, I find the little times of my day to read His word and meditate on it.

Comparison

My for you page is littered with successful sprinters. I constantly find myself getting caught up in wishing that I started running earlier in life and desiring different opportunities and circumstances in life. But God has placed me where I am now for a reason. I am on His timing. I need to focus on my race instead of the races of others. Looking in other lanes while trying to run your race will only slow you down and potentially cause you to fall. God is reminding me that He has a plan specifically laid out for me and to stay faithful to what He’s already provided. I might not know why God is taking me on a certain path and will question it sometimes. But all God is requiring me to do is to trust in Him. In doing this I find peace. What I’ve learned is that I might not be totally in control of the destination(Proverbs 16:9, 33), but I do have control over how I walk towards it. I trust and know God is preparing my heart to have my goals and handle them as God wants me to. He will provide everything I need.

Identity

Being a Child Of God is my primary identity while being an athlete is second. I had this switched around. Because of this, whenever I had performed under what I expected, I’d beat myself over it because I constructed that into who I was. I need to continuously remind myself that my identity isn't in my performance but in God (Psalm 139:14). In the book The Christian Athlete, the author explains how wrestler Helen Maroulis repeatedly told herself: “Christ is in me, I am enough.“ She was reminding herself of her already high identity in God. The outcome of the competition doesn’t change who you are. I always let myself know that there is still plenty of room to grow. I'm in the exact place God has planned for me.

We glorify God when we think and act in a way that pleases Him and draws attention to who he is.

The Christian Athlete

God continues to set me on the right path mercifully. He reminds me not to become prideful, to set my eyes on Him, to remember who I am in Christ, and to keep the bigger purpose in my heart: to spread the good news and represent+please Him. Whenever I experience these sins, I pray and surrender it all to God, knowing He loves me and will take care of me.

Reply

or to participate.